Inspiration: Balmain Studded Denim Jacket

IMG_9687

1. Start with a denim jacket. I bought mine from a thrift store for 7.99!
IMG_9688

2. Time to acid wash! Using a spray bottle, fill it with 50% water and 50% bleach. I messed up and used 100% bleach but I actually liked the stronger effect more than the diluted solution, so adjust according to your own preference.

IMG_96993. Spray with the spray bottle erratically, and let it sit for about 15 minutes.
IMG_9710

4. Use a blow dryer to accelerate the acid washing process. You should see the areas where you sprayed the bleach solution become lighter and patchy.

IMG_9711

IMG_9723

5. Once the jacket has reached the desired acid wash pattern, throw it in the washing machine! Wash with white colors only, since the jacket is soaked in bleach. I prefer white towels because they will come out bright white!

IMG_9749

6. It’s embellishment time! I used safety pins, medium sized to add an effect around the arm hole.

IMG_9756

I think Abby approves!

IMG_0415

7. Now, prepare for the hardest and most time consuming part of the entire process. Stud time! I bought my studs from a site called studsandspikes.com. I checked out Downtown LA for cheaper studs but it is actually cheaper online. The ones I used were Standard 1/2″ Silver Pyramid Studs.

For the studding process, I used long neck pliers to close the little prongs behind the studs onto the jacket.

IMG_0368

8. After a total of 11 hours of studding and around 200 studs per sleeve, I am finished!!

I am overall pretty satisfied but will probably never stud anything for a while, as my hands do not want to hold pliers for a while.

IMG_0418

IMG_0419

IMG_0421

IMG_0420

